The Oberlin Rotary Club grants several scholarships to deserving students in local school districts. Applications are due May 1, 2019.
The purpose of the Rex Engle - Joint Vocational School Scholarship (click to download application) is to reward deserving students attending the Career-Technical High School of the Lorain County JVS and support their future professional endeavors. Beginning in 2016, a $1,000 non-renewable, merit-based scholarship will be awarded to a graduating senior who seriously desires to continue his/her formal education.
Rex Engle is a living example of Rotary International’s motto of “Service Above Self.” Rex Engle was Rotary District 6600’s Governor (2014-2015) and has served the community as a board member of Visit Lorain County, the Amherst Board of Education, and Oberlin Business Partnership. Rex has also served on the JVS board of directors, including as president. Rex was honored at the 2015 Leadership Lorain County Difference Maker Gala. This scholarship is named in his honor.

Frank C. Locke Memorial Scholarship: Named for charter member, Frank C. Locke, this scholarship is awarded annually to deserving high school students from the area served by the club to provide them with financial assistance needed to commence or continue their studies at educational institutions. This is a $2500 annual scholarship, renewable up to 4 years.

Scholarship Applications are typically due in late April. To download and mail application, go to the download link at the left of this page. Important: If you file your application online, you will still need to download the application. The application contains all the detailed information, criteria and instructions you will need to proceed. You will also need to complete the signature page and have the school official/teacher sign the appraisal. 

John D. Cole STRIVE Scholarship: This scholarship is awarded to the student who improves the most their grades, attitude, attendance, and participation during their senior year. Recipients are required to participate in the Oberlin Rotary STRIVE program. Scholarships are currently awarded at Black River, Keystone, Oberlin, and Wellington High Schools. This scholarship is named in recognition of John D. Cole who has served as a Past District 6600 Governor and has been a passionate support of STRIVE programs throughout Ohio.

Tom Gilliland STRIVE Scholarship: Similar to the John D. Cole STRIVE Scholarship, this scholarship is also awarded to STRIVE participants. The scholarship is named in recognition of Tom Gilliland who has worked tirelessly on many Rotary Projects.